AFC Cup: After Recovering From COVID-19, Sunil Chhetri To Lead Bengaluru FC On April 14 | Football News

-Sponsored By-
- Advertisement -

Talismanic India captain Sunil Chhetri has returned to motion after recovering from COVID-19 and can lead Bengaluru FC of their AFC Cup preliminary stage two match on April 14. The Bengaluru-based facet on Thursday named a 29-member squad for the match in opposition to Nepalese facet Tribhuvan Army FC, a day after three COVID-19 cases had been detected among the many gamers and workers. Five reserve workforce gamers had been named within the workforce as head coach Marco Pezzaiuoli prepares for his first sport answerable for the Blues.

“Skipper Sunil Chhetri will lead the side into a seventh season of continental football, with the 36-year-old having joined the side in Goa where preparations for the campaign are well underway,” the membership mentioned in an announcement.

Chhetri had tested positive for coronavirus on March 11 and introduced that he had recovered from the an infection on March 28.

He missed India’s two worldwide friendlies in opposition to Oman and the UAE in Dubai as a result of COVID-19 an infection. India had drawn Oman 1-1 whereas they suffered an embarrassing 0-6 drubbing by the hands of the UAE.

Gabonese defender Yrondu Musavu-King is the most recent addition to the Blues’ international contingent as he joins Juanan Gonzalez, Cleiton Silva and Erik Paartalu within the squad for the qualifying marketing campaign.

The graduates from the membership’s reserve facet embrace goalkeeper Sharon Padattil, midfielders Damaitphang Lyngdoh and Muhammad Inayath, in addition to strikers Akashdeep Singh and Sivasakthi Narayanan.

The match on the GMC Stadium right here can be performed behind closed doorways as a result of pandemic.

On Wednesday, the membership introduced that three people have examined constructive for the virus throughout the camp, which started on April 5.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Lalthuammawia Ralte, Lara Sharma, Sharon Padattil.

Defenders: Rahul Bheke, Pratik Chaudhari, Juan Gonzalez, Wungngayam Muirang, Ajith Kumar, Ashique Kuruniyan, Joe Zoherliana, Parag Shrivas, Yrondu Musavu-King, Biswa Darjee.


Midfielders: Erik Paartalu, Suresh Wangjam, Harmanjot Khabra, Namgyal Bhutia, Emanuel Lalchhanchuaha, Damaitphang Lyngdoh, Muhammad Inayath.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Edmund Lalrindika, Udanta Singh, Cleiton Silva, Leon Augustine, Naorem Roshan Singh, Sivasakthi Narayanan, Akashdeep Singh.

- Advertisement -

Topics talked about on this article

Source link

- Advertisement -

Must read


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here